The Taubman Institute’s Governing Council, together with the director, provides stewardship and oversight of the Taubman Institute, as well as advice and counsel, consistent with the institute’s mission.

The council assists in establishing the objectives and priorities of the institute, and in monitoring its progress in meeting those goals. Oversight areas include the annual budget, strategic plan and the process and procedures for selecting Taubman Scholars.

Members include:

William U. Parfet

  • Chairman and CEO of Northwood Group

Rebecca Cunningham, MD

  • William G. Barsan Collegiate Professor of Emergency Medicine
  • Senior Advisor, Injury Prevention Center, University of Michigan
  • Vice President for Research, Office of Research, University of Michigan

Phyllis I. Hanson, MD, PhD

  • Minor J. Coon Collegiate Professor, Biological Chemistry
  • Chair, Biological Chemistry

Gayle T. Kalisman, EdD

  • President, A. Alfred Taubman Foundation

Philip T. Kalisman, PhD, MBA

  • Co-Founder, Active Cyber
  • AI Entrepreneur, ContinuumLab.AI

Steven L. Kunkel, PhD

  • Executive Vice Dean for Research U-M Medical School
  • Chief Scientific Officer, Michigan Medicine
  • Peter A Ward Distinguished University Professor

Julie Lumeng, MD

  • Professor of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases
  • Research Professor, Center for Human Growth and Development
  • Assistant Vice President – Clinical and Human Research

Gilbert S. Omenn, MD, PhD

  • Harold T. Shapiro Distinguished University Professor
  • Director, Center for Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics

George Poste, DVM, PhD 

  • Chief Scientist, Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative (CASI)
  • Regents’ Professor and Del E. Webb Chair in Health Innovation at Arizona State University

Marschall Runge, MD, PhD

  • Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, Michigan Medicine
  • Dean, Medical School

William S. Taubman, MA

  • President and Chief Operating Officer, The Taubman Company LLC
  • Vice President, A. Alfred Taubman Foundation