The $100,000 Taubman Prize For Excellence in Translational Medical Science

Presented annually by the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute at the University of Michigan, this awardrecognizes the clinician-scientist who has done the most to transform laboratory discoveries into clinicalapplications for patients suffering from disease.

Prize: $100,000


  • International scientists are eligible.
  • U-M scientists are excluded.
  • Self-nomination is permitted.
  • The recipient must be available to deliver the keynote speech at the Taubman Institute annual symposium in October 2018, in Ann Arbor.

Judging Criteria:

  • Significant contribution to translating basic research findings into medical practice
  • The manner in which nominee’s clinical activities connects to his or her laboratory research

Nomination information to be announced.

Nomination Guidelines

For a nomination to be considered by the selection committee, the following items must be submitted with thecompleted nomination form:

  • A one-page letter of nomination detailing the individual’s extraordinary or sustained contribution to the
  • field of translational research
  • The curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • The nominee’s h factor
  • A bibliography of 5 most significant publications
  • Two additional letters of support
Electronic submissions are encouraged. Incomplete nominations will not be presented to the nomination committee.

Questions?  Please email or call (734) 615-7282.

Past Recipients:

2016: Suzanne L. Topalian, M.D. of Johns Hopkins University School and Jedd D. Wolchok, M.D., Ph.D. of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, for their contributions to immunotherapy as a new paradigm in the
treatment of advanced cancers.

2015: Mahlon DeLong, M.D., of Emory University, for his contributions to the treatment of Parkinson’s disease.

2014: Carl June, M.D., of the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, for discoveries relatedto immunotherapy for leukemia using patients’ own T cells.

2013: Brian Druker, M.D., of the Oregon Health & Science University and Charles Sawyers, M.D., of Memorial SloanKettering Cancer Center, for their discoveries related to chronic myeloid leukemia.

2012: Hal Dietz, M.D., of Johns Hopkins University for his discoveries related to connective tissue disease.

The following individuals comprise the national selection committee that will judge the entries for the 2017 Taubman Prize:

Garrett Brodeur, M.D.

  • Director of the Cancer Predisposition Program at Children’s Hospital of Pennsylvania
  • Associate Director of the Abramson Cancer Center at Pennsylvania Valerie Opipari, M.D.
  • Chair, Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, University of Michigan Medical School
  • Ravitz Foundation Professor of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases
  • Professor of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

Mahlon DeLong, M.D.

  • William Timmie Professor of Neurology at Emory University School of Medicine
  • Co-Director and Founder of Emory Neuromodulation and Technology Innovation Center
  • 2015 Taubman Prize recipient

Harry Dietz, M.D.

  • Victor A. McKusick Professor of Genetics and Medicine, Johns Hopkins University
  • Howard Huges Medical Institute Investigator
  • 2012 Taubman Prize recipient

Carl H. June, M.D.

  • Richard W. Vague Professor in Immunotherapy, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2014 Taubman Prize recipient

William C. Mobley, M.D., Ph.D.

  • Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosciences, University of California at San Diego
  • Executive Director, UCSD Down Syndrome Center for Research and Treatment
  • Florence Riford Chair of Alzheimer Disease Research

David C. Page, M.D.

  • Director, Whitehead Institute  Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator

Charles L. Sawyers, M.D.

  • Chair, Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Marie-Josee and Henry R. Kravis Chair
  • Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
  • 2013 Taubman Prize recipient

Stephen M. Strittmatter, M.D., Ph.D.

  • Vincent Coates Professor of Neurology and Professor of Neurobiology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Director, Cellular Neuroscience, Neurodegeneration and Repair
  • Director, Memory Disorders Clinic
  • Director, Yale Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center