The executive committee is comprised of Taubman Scholars and Emerging Scholars who assist the director with recommendations about the institute’s programs and policies.

Members include:

Sung Won Choi, MD

  • Edith S. Briskin and Shirley K. Schlafer Foundation Research Professor
  • Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Dr. Choi treats children with cancer.  Her research focus is in the prevention and treatment of graft versus host disease (GVHD), the major complication of the bone marrow transplants that some cancer patients receive.  With collaborators, she has conducted a novel clinical trial of GVHD prevention using the anti-cancer drug, vorinostat.


Kathleen Collins, MD, PhD

  • Professor, internal medicine
  • Taubman Scholar

Dr. Collins has focused her career on understanding how viruses establish infections in human and animal cells, with a special focus on human immunodeficiency virus, the virus that causes AIDS. She has helped discover how HIV evades detection by the body’s immune system, specifically the “killer T cells” that normally destroy virus-infected cells.

Donna Martin, MD, PhD

  • Donita B. Sullivan Research Professor in Pediatrics
  • Interim Chair of the Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases
  • Professor, human genetics
  • Taubman Scholar

Dr. Martin, the Donita B. Sullivan Research Professor in Pediatrics, is a professor of pediatrics and of human genetics. Her research focuses on the genetic basis of neural development and disorders of human development.


David Pinsky, MD

  • J. Griswold Ruth, MD & Margery Hopkins Ruth Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Professor, molecular & integrative physiology
  • Chief, Cardiovascular Medicine
  • Director, Cardiovascular Center
  • Founding Taubman Scholar

Dr. Pinsky is the division chief of Cardiovascular Medicine at U-M, as well as the scientific director of the U-M Cardiovascular Center.  As a result of his groundbreaking research, Dr. Pinsky is known as a foremost expert in understanding the relationship between blood flow and heart and brain diseases.


Srijan Sen, MD, PhD

  • Frances and Kenneth Eisenberg Professor of Depression and Neurosciences
  • Associate Chair for Research and Research Faculty Development
  • Frances and Kenneth Eisenberg Emerging Scholar

Dr. Sen’s research focuses on the interactions between genes and the environment and their effect on stress, anxiety, and depression. He also has a particular interest in medical education, and leads a large multi-institution study that uses medical internship as a model of stress.