2017 Taubman Prize awarded to Stephen Hauser, MD

2017 Taubman Prize winner’s research led to new drug treatment for MS

Ann Arbor, Mich —  A physician-researcher whose work challenged conventional thinking about multiple sclerosis (MS) is the 2017 recipient of the $100,000 Taubman Prize for Excellence in Translational Medical Research, the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute announced.

Stephen L. Hauser, M.D., director of the UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences and professor and chair of the Department of Neurology at the University of California, San Francisco, will receive the honor in recognition of his paradigm-changing discoveries that paved the way for a highly effective drug in the treatment of MS.

Hauser will accept the award and deliver a keynote talk at the Taubman Institute’s annual symposium on October 20 in Ann Arbor.